Lesson 7

36 Views: 

IMG_2320

ISO 1600, 1/20 sec, f/8.0

IMG_2334

ISO 1600, 1/60 sec, f/4.5

IMG_2337

ISO 1600, 1/30 sec, f/2.8

IMG_2344

ISO 1600, 1/30 sec, f/2.8

IMG_2348

ISO 1600, 1/30 sec, f/2.8

IMG_2349

ISO 1600, 1/40 sec, f/2.8

In case the question arises, I did not use flash. Since I wasn’t allowed to reposition or relocate the object, I closed the blinds in the background and held my flashlight in a position that created the contrasted effect I was looking for. As you can probably see, I’m one of those that fancies the close up shots. I enjoy capturing textures and details of my subjects because it grants the viewer some intimate knowledge or understanding of the subject. I’m still working with the Canon PowerShot, so I apologize for the measly 12.1 MP quality. If my choice in subject offends anyone, I apologize in advance.

Make an Image Twice: 

IMG_2366

ISO 1600, 1/101 sec, f/2.8

IMG_2370

ISO 1600, 1/202 sec, f/2.8

I really like both of these photos. This is my favorite custom glass piece, so I am glad I got a chance to share it with you all. I especially like the detail in color of the iris in the first photo. I still struggle a little with the rule of thirds, but I researched a little on some sketch art websites. I think I might have a little better understanding, so I realize after already doing these photos, that I should have probably kept the camera at an equal distance to the subject in both of the photos. The only difference should be the positioning of the object in the frame. I just wanted to clarify that I understand the concept now. I just failed to completely demonstrate it in these photos.

Close Focus: 

IMG_2361

ISO 1600, 1/40 sec, f/2.8

I just want to clarify that this is, in fact, my prescription. The one thing I struggled to do in this photo was provide a proper lighting setting. I’m aware that the bottom side of the capsule is sort of shadowed into the black backdrop, and it sort of bothers me.

~Paulina Le

3 thoughts on “Lesson 7

Leave a Reply

